Butte National Historic Landmark District
An ornamental iron fence atop an ashlar retaining wall adorns the front of this charming L-shaped Victorian-era home. The second-story windows are highlighted by a decorative entablature and the façade features a bay window with a partial gable overhang. George Mennie, a boss carpenter at the Original Mine, likely built this house in 1907. Mennie lived here until 1913 when salesman Thomas Casey and his family purchased the property. A native of Indiana, Casey was one of the last old-time traveling salesmen, covering territory in northern Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, and parts of Utah in a horse and buggy. During his thirty-six years in Butte he was part owner and partner in the manufacturing agents firm of Casey and Lanphier with T. J. Lanphier. Casey died of a sudden heart attack just six weeks after his wife’s death. Frank Schilling purchased the home in 1937 and remained here until 1963. Schilling was a salesman for T. J. Lanphier and was Casey’s nephew.