Father Peter DeSiere became pastor of St. Patrick’s in 1893 and served the parish well for twenty-five years. At the time of his death in 1918, Butte had achieved its peak population. As St. Patrick’s Parish likewise expanded under Father DeSiere, so did the facilities. In 1899, the present rectory replaced a smaller residence to the east that had been constructed in 1881. John F. Hogan, a local plumber/carpenter/contractor, reveals his architectural talents in this unique residence. Hogan’s striking design features a round, turreted corner bay and fine masonry construction. Polychrome brickwork veneer complemented by stone lintels and sills, ornately carved stone above the entry, Tuscan columns, and a beautiful stained glass panel demonstrate quality craftsmanship and refined taste.